CEAEC GENERAL MEETING

Friday, June 16, 2017

Tilley Tupper Room, Delta Prince Edward Hotel, Charlottetown, PEI.

Attendance: See attached, sign-in sheet

CEAEC

CEAEC OBJECTIVES

1) To promote the general interests of distributors, manufacturers, and end users of explosives.

2) To promote high standards concerning the use, handling, storage and transport of explosives and

to co-operate with government authorities in the promotion of these standards in the interest of public safety.

3) To develop good working relations between manufacturers and distributors of explosives.

4) To encourage the adoption of uniform legislation concerning the explosives industry.

STANDARDS OF CONDUCT FOR CEAEC MEETINGS

We would draw your attention to the conduct required at our meetings and suggest that we avoid using any terminology or make statements that might jeopardize our Association in the eyes of the law and particularly anti-trust laws.

We remind you that the Association was formed to pursue the above goals and during any meeting there are several things that should be avoided:

- 1) No discussion of prices.
- 2) No exchange of statistics.
- 3) No price fixing.
- 4) No negative comments about others who work in our industry but are not part of our association. We are not a control organization and everyone is free to compete in the manner they so choose.
- 5) No discussion on division or restriction of trade or methods of distribution.
- 6) No discussion of boycotting sales to any client because of poor credit.
- 7) No discussion of sharing clients or markets.

In other words, only positive discussions which assist in promoting CEAEC's aims.



The President, Stewart McCallum, called the meeting to order & welcomed the members & guests to Charlottetown.

There was no business arising out of the minutes of the last meeting.

<u>Matthew Archibald</u> moved minutes be approved as circulated. Seconded by <u>Noel Hsu</u>. Passed.

Committee Reports:

<u>Membership</u>: There are currently 12 regular members and 10 Allied members in the Association. THVC, Elgin Systems, Gryphon Energetics have dropped out. B&M Carriers & Nordex have indicated they plan to continue.

- N. Ebsworth to follow-up with B&M Carriers & Nordex on rejoining association
 K. Taylor to forward contact info on Nordex as J. Taylor no longer there
- A. Galt to check with THVC for future interest.

Government Affairs:

Regular contact was maintained with ERD, CERL and Transport Canada over the past year. Established formal quarterly meetings with agendas & topics submitted ahead of time. Regulators have indicated they find this format more productive.

- A. Loan to monitor provincial regulations on ongoing basis & provide summary to members.
- A. Galt / K. Taylor to see about Maxim & Austin joining standards committee to review CSGB151
- A. Loan to report / respond re TDGI updates "part 8"
- Next 1/4ly ERD meeting Executive to discuss Environmental Emergency Regulations & need for consultation with multiple agencies

Quebec Affairs:

Nothing new to report.

• P. St-Georges & / or B. Felardeau to re-establish contact & provide update



Annual Meeting 2018:

- To be held at Hotel Fairmont in Vancouver, BC, April 25 27.
- Nicholas & Michèle Ebsworth to start preliminary planning in July

Annual Meeting 2019:

• Choice is between Québec City & Niagara-on-the-Lake.

New Business:

New BOD – current BOD has agreed to stand for 2017 - 2018 with the exception of Laurie Lovlin; resigned due to THVC's withdrawal from CEAEC

New President - Al Loan, New VP – Aaron Galt Position of Past President created – Stewart McCallum

Canadian National Fireworks Association

- Applied for membership
- Will be accepted as an "allied" member

Small consulting outfits (1 person)

- Applied for reduced fees
- BOD determined existing fee structure will be maintained

IME:

- Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Oct 2017
- Nicholas & Michèle Ebsworth to attend

ERD:

- Request made for CEAEC to assist with meeting of Chief Inspectors, from around the world, to be held in Ottawa April 2018.
- Board of Directors to consider request once additional information received from ERD. To review and decide by Fall Meeting

Donation in memory of Moose Morin

- Collecting donations for Shepherds of Good Hope.
- CEAEC will match member donations.



Canadian Explosives Industry Association Association Canadienne de l'Industrie des Explosifs

Working Committees for 2017-2018:

- Restructured committees to minimise having too many members on multiple committees
- Committees tasked working on top 3-4 priorities for the year so that can stay focussed on issues that are key to the membership
- To develop action plan with due dates for distribution to membership
- Committee composition listed below

Safety, Security and Environment Committee (SSE)

Benoit Choquette – Dyno

Stewart McCallum – Austin Powder Pierre St. Georges – Dyno

Bill Evans - Orica

Kim Tully - Maxam

Manufacturing, Transport and Technical Committee (MTT):

Aaron Galt - Maxam	Stewart McCallum – Austin Powder
Al Loan – Orica	Pierre St-Georges – Dyno
Gary Plouffe – Transport Nordique	Steeve Blais – Transglobe Logistiques
Randy Erb - Amerind	Frank Manson – FKD Contracting
Matthew Archibald – Atlantic Explosives	

Regulatory Committee

Al Loan - Orica Pierre St-Georges – Dyno Gene Olson – Maxam Stewart McCallum – Austin Powder Noel Hsu – Orica. Seamus Kilcommons – Dyno

<u>M. Archibald</u> moved the meeting be adjourned. Seconded by: <u>N. Hsu</u> Passed